ECQ Art: The Old Capitol of Mountain Province

Vector art of the old Mountain Province Capitol

The old provincial capitol of Mountain Province at Bontoc. The town is the capital of the said province since the establishment of the American colonial administration in the Philippines. It is made of several sub-provinces like Benguet, Bontoc, Lepanto-Amburayan, Kalinga, Apayao, and Ifugao, which would later become what we know today as the Cordillera Administrative Region (Abra was annexed to Ilocos Sur in 1908, then reestablished as a province in 1917).

The capitol was partially demolished sometime in the mid-2010s despite standing there since 1919. It was halted as clamour to preserve the capitol reached national cultural agencies.

We even had a write-up of this a few years ago.

Demolished capitol

As of date, the destroyed portion is being reconstructed.